Beginner rider help!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Londondannw

Hey all,

Complete beginner on here! I have owned my relative low end road bike for 6 months now which I mainly use for commuting and recreational cycling. I decided to time a 20 mile ride in London with very few hills on an almost windless day and recorded a time of 82 minutes. I would like to take up cycling as a sport next year and was wondering if that time was decent enough that I wouldn't be left for dead when riding with more experienced riders.
Would appreciate your opinions, thanks.

That's just under 15mph (14.6mph); 15mph was used by my last club as a benchmark before joining; work on increasing your speed slightly and join a club (you'll find your speed will rise a fair bit then in a group, drafting/motivation) and take it from there. I don't race (other than a few Hill TT's lately), I just enjoy my cycling and I typically average around 15.5-16.5mph on my own depending on the terrain without too much effort but in a group, with folk who do race I get up to 18-20mph on a hilly route and 22mph on the flat, I think they race faster than that and they could leave me for dead. Visa Versa though the professionals would leave them for dead. With your speed it doesn't sound like you'll be racing straight away but with nurturing who know, good luck :smile:

OP
OP
L

Londondannw

Yeah 15mph sound achievable, considering a section of that 20 mile ride was going through central London where I had to dodge crazy black cabs and stop every once in a while
smile.gif
. I think I really need to improve my climbing considerably before I join a club as i'm often reduced to crawling speed especially when I go via Muswell Hill. Don't really think I could do any real sort of racing with my bike now as it's a bit of a fat cat, the pace of them group rides seems fast, but i'm confident with more practice i'll be able to keep up. Thanks for the advice.