Beginner's puncture nightmare

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

smoggytom

Regular
Hi all,

I'm very new to cycling and I need some advice on avoiding punctures.

I only started cycling about 10 days ago. I have been out 4 times and have had 4 flats. I must be doing something wrong but I just can't figure out what it is!

I'm pretty sure my first two flats were a result of over-inflating. The max pressure for the tyre is 70 but I didn't have a clue what I was doing and I filled both to 115. OK, that was dumb. I can write it off to my ignorance and move on. I foolishly didn't have any way to repair by the roadside so I had to call the missus to come and rescue me.

So I did some research, bought some new tubes, a repair kit, and a clip-on pump. I filled the tubes appropriately and went out again. 10km later my back tire was completely flat. I discovered at this point that the clip on pump that I had bought didn't fit onto my valves, so once again, called the missus for rescue. (At this point I'm starting to think that cycling might not be for me.) When I get home and take a look, I can see that this time, a tiny wooden thorn has pierced right through the tire wall and through the tube, so I pulled it out, repaired the tube and refilled.

Ride number three was beautiful. Early morning is the only time I get to myself so I was out cruising the country lanes of north yorkshire at 5:30am, just as the sun is thinking about rising. It was hauntingly beautiful and it just felt wonderfully free. No more flats. I figure I had just been super-unlucky. Everything will be fine from now on, right?

No. Ride no 4 this morning, similarly free and beautiful pre-dawn cruise around the countryside. Awesome. Except that at about half a mile from getting home again, back tire is flat again. Luckily I was close enough to just walk it home.