Benefits of fixed ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

PpPete

Legendary Member
Well I havn't had my fixed up together very long, and not done a big mileage on it at all, but it's clearly making a difference already......

Went out on the geared bike (triple) this pm, freewheeling felt really weird at first, but what I noticed most of all was I was suddenly much more comfortable in the big ring. Before I started riding fixed it was strictly middle ring unless downhill or decent tailwind.

Anybody else find similar effect?

MajorMantra

Hard to say because it's so subjective, but I've always felt at least a psychological boost in strength from riding fixed. Doesn't stop me ending up in my absolute bottom gear when necessary on the the geared bike though. :wacko:

FWIW, with 53/39 and a 12/25 I ride in the big ring probably around 70-90% of the time (number pulled from nether regions :biggrin:). I change down for headwinds and serious climbs.

One thing I have noticed is that the more often you switch between geared and fixed, the less noticeable it becomes. I used my fixed most days for riding to uni or the shops, and I ride the geared bike on longer road rides and club runs. The sense that something is broken or missing on the freewheel bike goes away after a while.

Matthew

GrasB

Veteran
Yeah, fixies make you more flexible so you can do more over a given chainring. Anywhere between 70 & 120ppm is fine & up to around 135ppm on the flat for reasonably sustained periods is also fine. This makes a 50t chainring a very flexible tool, however it puts the middle chainring of a triple kinda in middle of nowhere for me & just an irritation as I'm always stepping over it.

RedBike

I found that when I switch back to gears after riding fixed I tend to forget to change gear. I'm far more prepared to honk a big gear up a hill or spin at 130rpm for a bit down a hill.

Wocce Racer