Bent chainset?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

pjray82

Hi there,
I’m new to bicycle repair. I’ve just been tinkering trying to master adjusting all gears. I think I’m getting there. I understand that with some/most bikes that some gears will always get chain rub. However, I’m getting it on too many... I think. In trying to work out why, I notice the gap between the chain and the derailleur is getting bigger and smaller as the pedal rotates. There doesn’t seem to be any play in the bottom bracket. I think, when looking from above, I can see that the biggest gear (maybe the two others but not noticeable) are moving left and right. I think the whole thing is bent for warped.
So I have two things I would really appreciate some advice on:
1. Do people agree with my diagnosis?
2. How do I go about replacing this part? (I also don’t know exactly what it’s called - is it the chainset?)

Thank you very much

OP
OP
P

pjray82

I’m not sure I have been clear enough with number 2. At this stage I’m not looking for advice on how to physically replace it. I need to know how to order the part. Do I have to replace like for like? Where should I search for it?
Thanks

Ajax Bay

Guru
:welcome:
You are describing a bent large chainring [ETA: or loose chainring bolts]. To give you a decent answer/advice, we need to know the make/model of triple chainset, the exact distance between two adjacent chainring bolts (of the larger two rings, assume 5 bolts), and the speed of the drivetrain (eg 8 speed - number of sprockets at rear).
Edited to add: First check that all your chainring bolts are tight.
Front derailleurs can be correctly adjusted so there's no chain rub, provided the rider sticks to 'normal combinations of chainring and sprocket (ie avoids cross-chaining).
Spa Cycles will be my first recommendation, but please provide the data requested.

Last edited:

Ajax Bay

Guru