Best lights for Brompton

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Steppers

I have been riding my Brompton through London on a commute for three years. I have a standard set of handle bars, the slightly extended seat post and the more robust luggage rack in the back. Otherwise it is standard. During that time I have gone through a number of lights (I did not order the Brompton lights when I bought it) and have still to find a set that works well with the fold (particularly the front light).

Grateful for any advice on a reasonably priced front light that will not need moving or removing when I fold the bike down.

Many thanks.

Steppers

Kell

Veteran
There are two things you can do to help yourself massively with regard to front lights.

The first is mount it to the left of the stem. Less likely to hit anything when folded.

The other is to buy an extension for the nipple on the front stem. This pushes the bars ever so slightly further out when the bike's folded and makes it even less likely that anything will catch when folded.

I've just looked on the site where I thought I got mine, but either they don't sell them anymore, or I didn't buy it from where I thought I did.

Maybe someone else will be along to tell you where to pick one up.

steveindenmark

Legendary Member
Failing that. If you want to go along the USB route. The Exposure Joystick is a small, well made light and it is very effective.

mitchibob

Über Member
The Cateye that is made for Brompton at the front works really well, and I get really decent battery life out of it. On the rear, if your saddle is a 2016 model or later, the tiny cateye for the rear, that screws directly into the saddle is a great little light. Super bright and long battery life too, plus small and cheap enough to have a spare in the saddlebag.

doginabag