Best road bikes under £450 plus tips

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Elliott W

I am new to cycling, only really been doing it properly for 3 weeks. After i was taken to herne hill velodrome by my uncle and introduced to the world of road cycling i became hooked. I loved to speed and excitement and the sense of exploration. However being 15 and having no income it was down to convincing my parents to get me a bike. Being told i had around £450 in the bank from birthdays and so forth i went on sites like this and others for ideas and reviews of bikes. After 3 weeks of searching i came to the conclusion that road bikes weren't cheap, new anyway. how i eventually decided a triban 3 was to be. Every review of this bike was positive and after reading the article cycling weekly posted about it i decided it was a must. But there were several other contenders that i would suggest others to buy or not to buy how tempting the price.

For me there were three things to look for in a bike, from my experience.
1) gearing- when i say gearing i don't necessarily mean the gear ratios (although that is something to look at as well) but instead the brands.

For £450 you aren't going to get much above a shimano 2300 and a shimano sora groupset (if lucky). But there will be cheaper bikes with generic components. i say play it safe, get either a shimano, microshift (newly emerging brand but from reviews it seems good) and FSA crankset.

but dont hold back if a bike with a good sram or campagnalo groupset pops up used on ebay.

2) The bikes frame material. for me heres how it goes in terms of materials.
the best material for a road bike is titanium, the second is carbon, the third is aluminium, The worst is steel/ alloy.

for the price range of £450~ the best your going to get is aluminium to be honest, with a carbon seatpost, fork or handlebar or something along those lines if your lucky.