Bike wheel size

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Carranty

Regular
Hi,

Beginner here thinking about building my own bike. I'm looking at the Manufacturer's specifications for various frames, but one thing I'm not sure about is minimum wheel width. For example, I'm considering building a hybrid/adventure bike, so am looking for frames that take a reasonably substantial tyre, but am thinking I might swap the wheels out from time to time for thinner ones, with thinner tyres, when I'm only planning on riding on the road. Is this possible? Or does using a thinner wheel cause problems?

Cheers

vickster

Legendary Member
You need wheels that can take thinner (depending what you mean) and fatter tyres (depends how fat)

I think most wheels that will take say a 38mm tyre will also take a 28, maybe a 25

Can you provide more details?

Presumably you’ll add proper mudguards too which is also a consideration

Personally I think chunky frames look odd with skinny tyres and loads of clearance. Went from 38 to 32 on my Boardman CX which looks fine with mudguards. I could have gone 28 but think it would look odd

If you’re only riding on road, why not just get a roadbike that’ll take a 28 or below. Adventure or gravel bikes are designed with some off road capability in mind as well as practicality with rack and mudguard fixings. They’ll never be as swift on the road as a dedicated road bike assuming the engine is up to the job

Last edited:
OP
OP
C

Carranty

Regular
Thanks for the reply
If you’re only riding on road, why not just get a roadbike that’ll take a 28 or below. Adventure or gravel bikes are designed with some off road capability in mind as well as practicality with rack and mudguard fixings. They’ll never be as swift on the road as a dedicated road bike assuming the engine is up to the job