Brake calliper design/ research

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bruce4321

Regular
Hi guys,
I am a HNC Mechanical engineering student, and as my final year project I have decided to research into brake callipers and particularly focusing on areas that need improvement, with the view to produce my own pair of callipers. I am not looking to re-invent the wheel with this project but I believe will be a challenging and rewarding project.

having already posted on another forum and met with negative comments, suggesting its a waste of time, I hope I could find more constructive feed back here.

I have a good knowledge of materials, design and manufacturing and have access to all technology and machinery I will need, e.eg. 3D printer, cnc machine, CAD software.

I would love to hear your feed back and opinions of areas that need improving, and what style/ design you prefer.

Also I am new to forums so bare with me. I look forward to any feedback.
Thanks

Which type of caliper are you looking to redesign? Cable operated mechanical? Cable operated hydraulic or full hydraulic system?

I like dual pivot calipers. Could you do something that is more aero than current designs? All the reviews have the current dura ace calipers offering the best amount f feel ans stopping power, maybe have a look at them and see what makes them better than other similar calipers.

OP
OP
B

bruce4321

Regular
I like dual pivot calipers. Could you do something that is more aero than current designs? All the reviews have the current dura ace calipers offering the best amount f feel ans stopping power, maybe have a look at them and see what makes them better than other similar calipers.