Breathing techniques advice please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cabbieman

I'm still a newbie at this and as I'm overweight and relatively unfit, I find my breathing is all over the place. When I think about it and I'm not on a hill, I can breathe through my nose and out through my mouth. Is this a good way to go? Do you think about your breathing or are you naturally relaxed about it.

Milkfloat

An Peanut
Personally, I just breath, unless I am going too hard, in which case I gasp and turn a funny colour

lazybloke

Considering a new username
I'm normal weight and am reasonably fit but that doesn't help my breathing - normally very shallow, so when I'm going up hills I'm soon feeling a lack of oxygen. Work offer a biennial health assessment which includes a peak flow spirometer test. I always post a low reading in that test.

HAve been reading about Graeme Obree's breathing technique, but haven't had a chance to try it yet.

Will be watching this thread with interest.

S-Express

As above ^^. Your autonomic nervous system is a wonderful thing. It takes care of breathing for you. Don't overthink it. In fact, don't even think it at all - you don't have to.

PeteXXX

Cake or ice cream? The choice is endless ...
Due to my propensity for breathing through my mouth, I gain much added protein by swallowing every passing winged bug...
Luckily, on a night ride, a mate was in front of me and caught a large moth, as it was heading my way, and spent half an hour coughing and hiccing it up!

Spinney

Bimbleur extraordinaire
I'm still a newbie at this and as I'm overweight and relatively unfit, I find my breathing is all over the place. When I think about it and I'm not on a hill, I can breathe through my nose and out through my mouth. Is this a good way to go? Do you think about your breathing or are you naturally relaxed about it.