brompton 12 speed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OP
OP
tinywheels

tinywheels

Über Member
brompton-eurobike-23-frankfurt-new-parts-for-electric-c-v0-0wlwavmj578b1.png

CaptainWheezy

Über Member
It's a 3 speed hub gear combined with the P/T line 4 speed derailleur. Will be interesting to see if they managed to shave any weight off the hub gear, if not it will probably end up weighing more than an old 6 speed superlight!

u_i

Über Member
I have been riding 12-speed in the rear of my own making for several months now. It is very convenient, but no, heaven did not open up:rolleyes:.

Kell

Veteran
It seems to solve a lot of problems in one hit.

Lowest ever gear and highest ever gear in one bike. Plus, presumably, less of a gap between ratios.

Trying to see if i can justify getting one.

dimrub

YMMV, for me it doesn't solve any problem. My commute has some rises (which become modest drops in the other direction) and some flats, and my 6 gears are more than adequate for that. I would have preferred all of them to be on the same shifter, rather than 3x2, but 12 gears - I can't justify that to myself.

Kell

Veteran
YMMV, for me it doesn't solve any problem. My commute has some rises (which become modest drops in the other direction) and some flats, and my 6 gears are more than adequate for that. I would have preferred all of them to be on the same shifter, rather than 3x2, but 12 gears - I can't justify that to myself.

I should have clarified that by saying ... "for me It seems to solve a lot of problems in one hit."

My 6-speed is enough for 90% of my journey. Certainly in London, a well geared 3-speed would do me.

Unfortunately, my commute on the home side also includes a 12-14% gradient hill.