Brompton M2R New owner - Questions about QR on seat post and folding

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bence8810

Hi all,

I am brand new to Brompton's and brand new to this forum - 1st post here, sorry if I may sound silly.
I've been riding a Dahon Metro 2010 for about 3 years now, the reason why I bought it was so I could bring it with me to the small islands just south of Tokyo where I frequently go fishing / camping. The Dahon served me right but I always had my eye on a Brompton, not sure if it was the hype or the small fold that I wanted it but I am glad I got it.

p.s. I am also a film shooter and went through a few cameras before dropping the extra $$$ on a Leica and never looked back - I expect the same will happen to the Brompton.

So - the 2 questions I have - again if I overlooked something please bear with me. I watched videos and read threads / manual etc, still unsure what to do.

First of all the seatpost clamp, the QR thing. It is plastic and looks surprisingly cheap for the amount of $$$ (or Japanese yen rather) I dropped on this bike. I am having a hard time finding the balance between the clamp not tightening down the sleeve strong enough so the seat post goes in gradually over bumps and over-tightening the nut so that even with the clamp open, the seatpost won't slide in for folding.

I noticed that the plastic clamp sort of rotates beyond the central nut, I assume the plastic isn't strong enough and when the nut is tight, it starts slipping / over-turning. Picture below.
What do you guys do to sort this out? I read that adding an extra QR on the post will work but isn't the charm of the brompton simplicity and things just working out of the box? I read people sanding down the seat post etc, really not something I'd like to do as long as there is a better way like adding on a stronger lever / clamp that won't slip etc.

Brompton_Clamp_Slipping.jpeg