Brompton slipping only in second hardest gear

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

carrotmash

Hi all,

I would be really grateful for any input on the below issue.
As a premise, I ride a 1992 5 speed brommie with the original sturmey archer hub. It’s a solid bike that meets my needs. And yes it’s super old but I can’t afford a new one now and this one works 90% of the time.
Also, I’m not a bike expert, but my local bike shop has given up even taking a look at the issue as they think the bike is not worth their time cos I won’t buy one of their new ones.

For the past two weeks or so it started slipping only in the second hardest gear, only under load so can’t reproduce by moving pedals only. Sadly I can’t ride it in the very hardest for very long or it starts making horrible squeaky sounds, I was advised it’s a worn component but the parts are hard to come by now, so I just don’t bother.
It doesn’t slip with any of the easier gears, but it makes for a very slow ride to cross London on those!

Things I have tried:
Cleaned and regreased the chain
Cleaned the sprocket, chain tensioner and derailleur.
Tightened the gear cable at the indicator.

Bear in mind I’m no bike expert and I might not have done any of the above perfectly.. but was at least going to try.
Sadly has not made any difference.

Keep thinking it can’t be the hub if it only slips in that one gear! At least I really hope it isn’t.
I’m at a loss, any suggestions?

rogerzilla

Legendary Member
Hi all,

I would be really grateful for any input on the below issue.
As a premise, I ride a 1992 5 speed brommie with the original sturmey archer hub. It’s a solid bike that meets my needs. And yes it’s super old but I can’t afford a new one now and this one works 90% of the time.
Also, I’m not a bike expert, but my local bike shop has given up even taking a look at the issue as they think the bike is not worth their time cos I won’t buy one of their new ones.