Brompton tyres don't stay at high pressure for long

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

pintofale

Hello everyone, new user here just wanting a bit of advice.

I have a Brompton which I have been riding infrequently for ten years or so. I have Schwalbe tyres and tubes, but I always find them down on pressure when I come to use the bike (sometimes after a few weeks), and have to top them up (which I do by judgement, not to a specific pressure). I am quite hefty (107kg) so I do run them at high pressure, perhaps over spec (I inflate them till they hold shape when I am sitting on the bike), but I have not had this problem with other bikes. Can anyone suggest a different tube option which might hold the pressure better? Perhaps the problem is that my weight is all on the back wheel which is small, whereas on another bike the weight is spread over two larger wheels...

EDIT: Just wondered if trying a presta valve instead of the car type would be worthwhile??

Last edited:
OP
OP
pintofale

pintofale

Yes I have plastic valve caps which came with the tubes, which have always been on, so no dusty valves. I have never used slime either. The valves should be good - I have also changed the tubes (for the same type, Schwalbe) and the problem remains.

srw

It's a bit more complicated than that...
They just don't hold pressure well. Get a track pump with a gauge and pump regularly. It takes a couple of minutes.

the snail

Guru
Schwalbe tubes hold pressure well IME (the heavier ones not lightweight), I'm more surprised that you find any tube will hold pressure over several weeks, I'd expect to top them up every couple of weeks. My only suggestion is to buy a track pump with guage, so you can easily pump up to a consistent pressure.

OP
OP
pintofale

pintofale