Calais to Dieppe (1st timer)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Xoffie

Hello There

Myself and my girlfriend have decided we'd like to get started with some small (in comparison to what I've been reading here) tours and an obvious place to start outside of Blighty was the French Coast.

We are complete novices, though I enjoy riding at the gym and am massively into travel I have no idea what realistically I could cover in 1 day (and if that would leave us wiped for the rest of the trip).

I was wondering

a) If anyone had done this route. It seemed like a fairly easy beginners attempt and obviously is by the coasts so hoping it will be picturesque but how do you guys navigate? Simple case of a road map, google maps, following the signs (I know, Rookie Rookie). Are coast roads a bad idea? What kind of roads should we be riding on? Obviously I'd prefer not to get mown down.

:smile: Could anyone recommend good stop of points?

c) My gf likes the idea of camping but I think for a first attempt we would be better with the comfort of hotels and without the weight of equipment, am I missing out on true touring? Should I dive in?

And lastly, are puncture repair kits and the like adequate?

OK, im thru looking the newb, any mercy posts welcome

Xoffie

OP
OP
X

Xoffie

OH

And how far can two new bikers expect to go per day without being wrecked the next?

snorri

Legendary Member
Xoffie said:
an obvious place to start outside of Blighty was the French Coast.
The close proximity may make it appear the obvious place to start but the Calais Dieppe area is a fairly bleak part of the world, Better to look towards ferry ports further north, Ostend , Zeebrugge, Hook of Holland or Ijmuiden, and devise tours around these areas.

Tim Bennet.

Entirely Average Member