Can't change into 3rd (on chain ring)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hatevessel

Regular
Hi there,

Please excuse any incorrect/hilariously misused terminology, I'm just starting out with cycling. Please feel free to correct me on anything, I suspect my ignorance of the correct terms means I can't currently google/youtube the answers I need.

I can't currently change into the 3rd 'big' gear (chain ring?). It will very occasionally work, but most of the time you just hear it clacking away, not quite getting into gear.

I took it back to the bike shop I bought it from, explaining the issue, and expected it to be fixed as part of the 6 week service. I'm afraid it worked for about 10 minutes... and to be honest, I've completely given up on them as their service has not filled me with any confidence whatsoever, both technically and in human terms.

On the plus side, it's an opportunity to learn something.

I saw a Halfords video explaining that you can tighten/loosen the cable by twisting the little knob next to the gear switcher, but I've not had any joy doing this whatsoever.

I suspect it's the result of it being a pretty cheap bike, but I'd expect you to be able to use all the gears at the very least, even if they index slowly, or whatever.

Any thoughts, or links to relevant material would be a great help.

For reference, this is my bike: http://www.cycleking.co.uk/CS450-700-ALU-EZ-FIRE-24SPD-BLACK-SPORTS-HYBRID-4-9-product-123.html

I can provide any photos/videos of relevant components if required.

(yes, I know... Ammaco... but I wanted to make sure I wasn't one of the plonkers with all the gear and no idea... I have a bad track record with hobbies... however, it looks like this one may just stick!).

Cheers

Tim Hall