Car Doored!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Well, this morning I had my first real incident - I was riding past and a motorist opened their car door on me, sending me flying across the road (I was going at some speed). He was incredibly apologetic, rang an ambulance and stayed with me until it arrived. He gave his details to both the police and myself and he accepted full liability at the scene. I've been advised to seek legal advice and have came across a road accident solicitors called Winns who specialize in cyclist claims and they seem very professional - i've read some reviews online that sound brilliant - but i'm not sure what to do? Has anyone used these solicitors before or even made a claim when something similar has happened to themselves? I'm new to all of this, so looking for advice really.

Thanks so much for any replies and help, its much appreciated
Lauren :smile: x

downfader

extimus uero philosophus
Use the forum's search engine as others have given good advice in the past... basically document any injuries to yourself, and any damage to the bike, clothes etc. Keep any records from reputable bike shops if they need to do any repairs or quotes.

Its also worth joining a good cycling organisation. They probably wont be able to help you now, but give you legal cover for future stuff.

Davidc

Guru
Agree about the cycling organisation for the future. CTC and BC include legal representation for members plus 3rd party insurance for if you're at fault.

Good to hear that your driver acted properly. Hope you're OK and that your bike gets sorted quickly.

I've been lucky and only had near misses with doors, but get complaints for keeping way out from parked things that have any possibility of occupants.

Leodis

Veteran
Are you injured? If so hope you are ok.