Carbon frame found on eBay

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

skyman

Hi,
I'm new to the cycling world and havn't riden many road bikes, but I took a ride on my friends' bike and loved it! I've decided that I want to build my own road bike, but before starting I just wanted some advice on this particular frame I found on eBay.
I think its a bit cheap for a full carbon frame, so I wanted to check to see if there's anything wrong with it that im missing.
Any advice on building my bike would be greatly appreciated, I dont know my way around a bike that well, but im willing to learn!

Heres the frame I found:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI....Category=98084&_trkparms=algo=LVI&its=I&otn=1

Will1985

Über Member
It's tiny! A 50cm top tube is for people under about 5'5". Is that you?

Main point is to be aware you may get stung later for import duty. Can't comment on the frame - I would, but some people might say that unbranded Far Eastern frames should be avoided...weak argument.

When building it, you will have to be very careful about fitting the headset and tightening the front mech band - you don't want to crack the carbon.

montage

God Almighty
If building your own bike, I would recommend buying an old steel racer (these are still light!) frame and cheaper components for the first time round. You will still have a beautiful bike, but will be totally clued up on bikes ready for when you build your dream bike :biggrin:

Ademort

Before buying this frame please remember that you will probably be subject to import duties and VAT charges so it will be considerably more expensive than the 360.00 US Dollars that you pay for it.As for the frame itself, it looks ok and if it fits you then why not buy it. But,does it have to be a carbon frame, there are plenty of lightweight Aluminium frames to be had for a good price on ebay.Good luck with your bikebuild.
Ademort

kyuss

Veteran