Chain links

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Stripes

I'm new to cycling and are trying to make sure I carry everything in my bag for emergencies.
Emergency chain links are mentioned a lot in posts but they also mention 8-9-10 gear links.
Not sure what mines is
What one should I get and how do I know what what mines is?
I'm getting lost

arch684

Veteran
Just count the sprockets on the rear wheel

si_c

Guru
I'm new to cycling and are trying to make sure I carry everything in my bag for emergencies.
Emergency chain links are mentioned a lot in posts but they also mention 8-9-10 gear links.
Not sure what mines is
What one should I get and how do I know what what mines is?
I'm getting lost
Quick links, or chain links, are useful when you snap a chain only. This is a rare occurence, and may never happen. If it does though you do need some way of repairing the chain so you can get home. The difference between the links is because as you increase the number of sprockets available on the back wheel, the chain needs to become narrower to run smoothly, so if you want to get a quick link, count the number of sprockets on the back as @arch684 said, and get the appropriate one.

I mentioned in another recent post that I don't carry a quick link with me. The reason for this is that if your chain breaks, its quite likely that you'll need a chain tool to remove a link to allow you to fit it. I just save myself the hassle, and carry the chain tool, this allows you to break the chain and rejoin it slightly shorter, meaning you can get home. It takes some practice, but it should be just as quick as using a link, and more reliable too.

Given that you should really carry a multitool, something like the Topeak Nexus (which I use) which has a chain tool built in, should be perfect for what you need. Just practice using it at home on a cheap chain, so you're not stuck at the side of the road.

mrandmrspoves

Middle aged bald git.