Chain wear

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rivers

How far can I go?
Is it normal for a chain to be worn enough for replacement after roughly 5 weeks of use? Granted, I average over 100 miles per week, with some weeks being over 150. Seems a bit quick, but I'm still new to this. I know the original chain was pretty low end (I think it retails for less than £5), so that may have something to do with it. I'm picking up a new chain tomorrow and replacing, and have gone for a higher end SRAM chain. But I'm just wondering if I should start stockpiling chains now to replace on a monthly basis. I'll be picking up a chain tool and chain checker as well. At least the cassette looks okay.

davidphilips

Veteran
goodness thats quick are you sure its worn? most weeks i cycle at least 150 miles a week in summer sometimes a lot more, most of my bikes have the older thick 8 speed chains but never have any worn out in under a year.

OP
OP
rivers

rivers

How far can I go?
goodness thats quick are you sure its worn? most weeks i cycle at least 150 miles a week in summer sometimes a lot more, most of my bikes have the older thick 8 speed chains but never have any worn out in under a year.

I had it's 6 week service done today, and the only thing to report on was the chain was worn. I though it was fairly quick seeing as I've only ridden between 700-800 miles on it. As I said, I'm going to purchase a chain checker tomorrow when I pick up the new chain. If it is, in fact, not worn, I'll hold off on replacing.

boydj

Legendary Member
Chain wear is dependent on the type of riding. Regular commuting in all weathers can wear out a chain in 1000 miles or so, while only doing long runs in good weather will see thousands of miles from a chain.

Five weeks in summer seems a very short time to wear out a chain.

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next