Chainset pedal problem...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Grouchfungus

Disaster of a ride tonight.

I'm a newbie so please bear with me here....not sure of the correct tech names for all the bike bitz.

Got halfway round the ride. Chainset/pedal assembly fell off. The securing bolt had sheared off. Limped home for 4 miles having to tap the chainset/pedal assembly back onto the spindle every couple of revolutions.:wahhey:

Will it be possible to get the broken thread out??:biggrin: And replace with a new hex bolt? The chainset was recently repaired by the LBS as the largest cog was bent.

The bike's a Specialized Hardrock BTW ....

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Have some strong words with the LBS.

You'll have to have a new BB if it's a square taper or isis (square BB axel or a serrated one) - that's not a problem as the drive side is off. The shop/or you can undo the non-drive crank arm, isnser removal rool, undo lock ring, go to drive side and remove whole BB.

Not worth trying to drill out the snapped bolt.....I'd suggest big spanner monkeys at work.......

OP
OP
G

Grouchfungus

fossyant said:
Have some strong words with the LBS.

You'll have to have a new BB if it's a square taper or isis (square BB axel or a serrated one) - that's not a problem as the drive side is off. The shop/or you can undo the non-drive crank arm, isnser removal rool, undo lock ring, go to drive side and remove whole BB.

Not worth trying to drill out the snapped bolt.....I'd suggest big spanner monkeys at work.......

Possible LBS overtightened? Or jus' bad luck? Common problem?

Tynan

Veteran
stright to the LBS with a hard stare, insist on all new FOC

bravo for getting home

gbb

Legendary Member
When you say the chainset was replaced by the LBS Grouch...do you mean the whole crankset (cranks and chainrings)..or did they replace just the chainrings (the sprockets on the front)