Changing Brake Cables - advice on the cable itself

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Supersuperleeds

Legendary Member
Decided to take the plunge and attempt to change the cable myself for the back brake, it is a hybrid so is on V brakes

Since it is my first attempt I am going to go for the cheapest brake cable I can find, that way if I screw it up I don't mind throwing it away and getting the LBS to do it for me.

I have a Halfords near work so going to pick one up from there. The question is, is this cable okay, reason I ask is it says it is an inner cable? I know it is probably cheap and nasty and won't last long, but I can put a better cable on at a later date once I am confident with my fettling skills

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/..._productId_186711_langId_-1_categoryId_273959

Or do I go for this one, even though I wont want all the housing that is on it?

http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/..._productId_186747_langId_-1_categoryId_273959

When it comes to cable inners cheap is fine, and Clarks cables are perfectly fine.

I only ever buy cheap cable inners TBH, they're all much of a muchness IMO :thumbsup:

jim55

Guru
clarks stuff is gen pretty good but tbh i would use either of them ,ul need to cut the end off u dont need and if its not a clean cut itl prob fray, if u have good cutters itl b ok but its not a hard job at all

OP
OP
Supersuperleeds

Supersuperleeds

Legendary Member
Cheers, now I just have to decide whether to try and fix it tomorrow night and risk having no back brake for two days or wait until Saturday.

Bugger it, gonna do it tomorrow night

OP
OP
Supersuperleeds

Supersuperleeds

Legendary Member
clarks stuff is gen pretty good but tbh i would use either of them ,ul need to cut the end off u dont need and if its not a clean cut itl prob fray, if u have good cutters itl b ok but its not a hard job at all