Changing tyres

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ChristinaJL

I'm trying to teach myself a bit of bike maintenance and today I thought I'd install my new 700x23c tyres on the road bike. I'm a complete newb when it comes to fixing punctures etc, but can't seem to get the tyre to inflate without it bulging over the side of the rim. :blush: I checked the tyre was seated properly round the rim before starting to pump it up, but it still bulges. Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Both the tyres/inner tubes are all new. Thanks.

C

chillyuk

Is the tyre coming off the rim near the valve. if so, before pumping up the tyre (tube!) unscrew the valve securing ring if fitted and push the valve up back into the tyre. You will feel when it locates properly, then just pull the valve back down again. Now pump it up. I am of course assuming that everything, wheel, tube and tyre are compatible sizes.

OP
OP
ChristinaJL

ChristinaJL

Is the tyre coming off the rim near the valve. if so, before pumping up the tyre (tube!) unscrew the valve securing ring if fitted and push the valve up back into the tyre. You will feel when it locates properly, then just pull the valve back down again. Now pump it up. I am of course assuming that everything, wheel, tube and tyre are compatible sizes.

It was on all different parts of the wheel, each time another place. :rolleyes: We finally managed to get the wheels on, but everytime I pump the tyres up to over 60psi it bulges out. I even took the bike to the LBS this morning and the same thing happened to them, so at least it's not just me. :biggrin: So, my husband finally got them to 80 on the front and 85psi on the back after much swearing, but I'm used to riding on 100psi. But to be honest, we had a bit of trouble with the armadillo tyres I had on it previously doing the same thing. Maybe it's something to do with the rims/rim tape?

Will the tyres ride in I wonder, as they're brand new this morning?