Chiropractor or osteopath?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Justinslow

Lovely jubbly
Hi all, I work as a self employed gardener and generally suffer with a bit of lower back pain which I try to keep in check with stretches.
However, whilst sweeping of all things, my right lower back shot out a tremendous pain. It subsided a bit then I raced a 10 mile TT that evening which has really made it much worse, the position of the TT bike is obviously very aggressive.
I've got ride London on Sunday!
So my question is would you visit a chiropractor or osteopath to try to help the situation? It seems definitely to the right of my lower back not in the middle.
Any advice welcome, obviously being self employed and a gardener, rest is not an option this time of year (I'm cutting hedges today).
Cheers.

Osteo. Probsbly depends more on the person treating you though as that'll have a greater difference.

Julia9054

Guru
I guess you've never been to see a GP with back issues then? Mine was pretty useless & offered NHS physio, which had around 3 months waiting list :sad:
I went to see my GP a few years ago about my injured shoulder. I was referred to an NHS physio but also given the number of a private physio if i didn't want to wait.

I guess you've never been to see a GP with back issues then? Mine was pretty useless & offered NHS physio, which had around 3 months waiting list :sad:
.... at which point you get referred back to your GP as the clinical details are out of date, and a new referral is required

Used to be a sneaky way of avoiding the targets

vickster

Legendary Member
Private sports physio. Will be better at diagnosing an MSK issue than your average GP. Should get in within a few days. Probably around £50-60 for initial assessment. Make sure you find one who does massage, ultrasound, and especially acupuncture which can be extremely effective for back spasms