Cube attain sl disc - 1000 mile review

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

al3xsh

Über Member
I have now had my cube attain sl disc for 3 months and have done nearly 1000 miles on it - so here are my thoughts.

Firstly I should state that this is my first "proper" road bike so I have limited experience to compare it to. Prior to buying the Cube I have been riding around on a Giant Roam 1 hybrid (bought as a commuter bike to get to the station via the cycle to work scheme - just over 18 months ago - which has been my introduction to cycling). I am keeping the Giant for commuting and popping down the shops duties, and saving the Cube for fun!

In short it is a fantastic bike! It might not be the lightest in class (the Hoy Alto Irpavi I tested at Evans was roughly half a kilo lighter) but it hasn't ever felt heavy. It also seems to demand being ridden hard - I feel like I'm letting it down if I just potter along ;-). I'm still smashing personal bests on strava on most rides!

Initially I ordered in the 58 size having looked at the geometry charts (I'm 6ft 1), but, after sitting on it in the shop and taking it for a test ride, the guys in the shop recommended trying a 56 - which turned out to be a much better fit. At this point I should say a massive thank you to JE James in Chesterfield for their help and forbearance with all my nooby questions! They spent a lot of time with me helping to get the bike set up right, making sure it was the right size, and pointing me in the direction of some decent hills for a test ride. Rob in particular was a fantastic help! I would highly recommend them and have been back since for lots of bits and pieces!