Cube Travel / Cube Touring Bikes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Serge

Über Member
A little bit of history:

I've been cycling to work for the last three years now after a fifteen year hiatus and have been truly bitten by the cycling bug.

I started out on a Giant FCR3 hybrid inherited from my late step-father which was subsequently stolen from a busy, town centre bike stand (they must have had some balls to whip out a set of bolt cutters in such a busy location).

Since then, I've been using my old GT Timberline MTB that I bought in 1997 as a commuter down the canal towpath.

After I started a new job in April 2017, I became aware of the cycle to work scheme so started feverishly hunting for hybrid bikes online similar to my original Giant. It was at this point I fell in love with the Cube range and set my heart on the Cube Nature Pro in reef blue / flash orange (there's no accounting for taste is there!).

Unfortunately / fortunately, the company I was working for at the time lost the contract and the new company were not part of the cycle to work scheme. Having a poor credit score, this meant any purchases would have to be cash.

In the meantime, I attempted to cycle down the Oxford canal from Nuneaton to Oxford on my GT. After battling through three inches of mud for about twenty five miles, I eventually gave up and finished the ride on busy A roads. After that debacle I decided I was going to stick to roads and get myself a decent road bike.

I then started reading the Easy As Riding A Bike blog and realised cycling didn't have to involve pouring yourself into Day-Glo condoms and wearing polystyrene hats to race at 30mph to stay ahead of the motor traffic.

This is when I decided a touring bike with all the bells and whistles may be the thing for me.

Which, rather convolutedly, brings me to the reason for this post.