Cycle camping Russia

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Somerset

Any advice about cycle camping in Russia, intention being to fly into Moscow and cycle back to U.K (eurovelo route) camping along the way. Fairly happy with Western Europe bit but would like any experience re Russia.

steveindenmark

Legendary Member
I may be wrong but I think visiting Russia is quite complicated. You need to start doing some research.

This may help to start.

http://waytorussia.net/RussianVisa/Registration.html

I cycled in Russia, in the area known as Golden Ring, in June last year. I am going to Saint Petersburg and Kerelia region this summer.
You need a visa. Please see Russian embassy website for details. It looks very complicated but the there is a process to follow.
I cycled with Russian Cycke Touring Club. So I had an invitation to visit the country. But you can get it if you book hotels.
I have no experience of camping as I was in hotels. As the rural places to stay are so cheap, there is no need to camp.
You can get a room with breakfast on airbandb for 10-15 pounds outside main city. At the end of cycle tour, I am taking the train to Murmansk. Room with breakfast is just 14 punds
Road conditions are not very good.

physical

Any advice about cycle camping in Russia, intention being to fly into Moscow and cycle back to U.K (eurovelo route) camping along the way. Fairly happy with Western Europe bit but would like any experience re Russia.
I'm planning on doing the same thing next summer (2020) - I either want to cycle from Brighton to Moscow, or if that's too difficult I want to return.

My current investigations seem to be OK until I hit Belarus / Russia where the information is somewhat sparse.

Any advice / suggestions would be appreciated.

C.J

Über Member

This couple are cycling round the world, there is half a dozen videos of them going through Russia,