Cycle club or no cycle club

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I am not sure if I want to join a club or not. I have been cycling for a few years now, but only on mountain bikes and hybrids which I only used for leasurely rides from A to B. I am getting a road bike in a few days to get involved in cycling more by eventually entering events such as races and time trials. At first I am going to use the road bike to rack up my riding mileage and increase my speed average to ready myself for future events. Before putting this plan in action I need to ask a few things:

1. Ive noticed that you need a full race licence to enter races and time trials, is this true?
2. Do I have to have a Silver/Gold membership of British Cycling to purchase a full race licence?
3. How much will it cost me to get a full racing licence?
4. Ive noticed that cycle clubs organise races and time trials, do I need to be a member of that club to enter their events?
5. Are there any races and time trials organised outside cycling clubs?

fossala

Guru
You have club TT's and open TT's. You need to be part of a club to take part in club TT's. If you want to take TT'ing seriously, you really need to join a club.

You shouldn't need a race licence for local club TT'ing.

BSRU

A Human Being
If you're going to start road racing then riding with a club will get you used to riding in a group rather than alone.

Rob3rt

Man or Moose!
I am not sure if I want to join a club or not. I have been cycling for a few years now, but only on mountain bikes and hybrids which I only used for leasurely rides from A to B. I am getting a road bike in a few days to get involved in cycling more by eventually entering events such as races and time trials. At first I am going to use the road bike to rack up my riding mileage and increase my speed average to ready myself for future events. Before putting this plan in action I need to ask a few things: