Cycling decisions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

vernon

Harder than Ronnie Pickering
I'm just back from Crete and I am enjoying the cool damp atmosphere of Meanwood. It looks like the weather has not been that great here and the forecast isn't too bright for the next five days - perfect to get a couple of 100km Audaxes slotted in in the next few days :-)

I came back to a pile of mail which included some Audax entries, the quarterly Audax magazine and, potentially, the mapping for a mini tour - the Sustrans Lon Las Cymru pack of maps and guidebook.

I'm not expecting the route to be flat and I have little experience of Wales on a bike having only driven through the place on family camping holidays. I am undecided whether or not to attempt to do it all or to do just one half.

The questions:

In halves or in its entirety?

If in halves, which half?

Ride North to South or South to North?

Do the lot vernon. Your reports are so interesting it will mean I have more to read! (Pitiful reasoning #1) :ohmy:

OP
OP
vernon

vernon

ASC1951 said:
With the bike? I went there 20 years ago but tumbled off a climb and broke my ankle, so I didn't see much of the place and would like to see more.

Nope, the bikes stayed at home. I didn't bother hiring any of the bikes available at the local bike hire place because I decided to have a relaxing holiday with my family and I don't find cycling in the heat relaxing. Crete also looked rather lumpy in (most) places. I was luck that last year's summer, for some, was disappointingly cool when I cycled from the Channel to the Med.