Cycling under the influence

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
On todays bike ride the manor of cycling by a chap on the same stretch of road led me to suspect something was not quite right. Cycling alongside I asked if he was alright then the stench of beer combined with the silly way he was talking suggested drunkeness , so stayed I alongsidE and humoured him until he got home safely.

I'm aware that cycling when drunk is illegal in the UK and whilst my interest was to ensure he came to no harm and caused no harm, I wonder if police action Is ever been taken to cyclists riding under the influence?

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Unless he was a danger, and the police caught him, it's very rate. You'd have to be totally ratted to get caught, and unlucky.

Milkfloat

An Peanut
As a student I was once stopped by the police after a skinfull for cycling along weaving in and out of the dashed centre lines on the road in Coventry. I told them I was riding like that so I did not crash into a parked car. They simply told me to walk home and push the bike which I did. They drove past me a few minutes later and gave me a thumbs up for pushing the bike along still.

I suspect that nowadays they may not be so lenient, mainly for my own protection.

winjim

Smash the cistern
You could have just titled the thread 'what's the drunkest you've ever been riding a bike?' and be done with it, because that's what's going to happen. As a younger man I would regularly ride home from my pub job absolutely smashed off my face and nobody ever stopped me. Fell off quite a lot and sometimes had to stop for a tactical vomit but no coppers ever got involved.

Last edited:
A mate of mine back in the early ‘80s, studying to be a solicitor, was cycling home from the pub after a skinfull. He was stopped by a patrol car and, mostly for his own safety, was ‘advised’ to get off and walk the bike home.