daughter gone... With bicycles...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

phil_hg_uk

I am not a member, I am a free man !!!!!!
I find it quite terrifying to be honest. Made me even more determined to keep cycling with my son. At least if he gets used to the roads with me riding along spouting Cycle Craft at him, he'll have more chance of survival if he decides to get a moped later on.

I tell you one thing though I find that anyone who has ridden any type of motorcycle is almost always a much safer car driver as a result, because they know the dangers that cars present to motorcycles and drive accordingly.

Sara_H

Guru
I tell you one thing though I find that anyone who has ridden any type of motorcycle is almost always a much safer car driver as a result, because they know the dangers that cars present to motorcycles and drive accordingly.
I think that counts for cycling too, I know I'm a much better driver due to experience as a cyclist.

OP
OP
Boris Bajic

Boris Bajic

I find it quite terrifying to be honest. Made me even more determined to keep cycling with my son. At least if he gets used to the roads with me riding along spouting Cycle Craft at him, he'll have more chance of survival if he decides to get a moped later on.

I didn't use Cyclecraft with my children, just some homespun old nonsense I made up.... But it seems to be similar in content.

One of my 'tricks' when they were younger was that if I called their name while we were riding, they had to say what the car behind was without turning to look. So...

"Silver Ford!" or "Blue van with two people in it!". It sounds Draconian, but they liked it. It was a regular thing for all of them until they were about ten.

Another one was asking how many fingers I was holding up when riding behind them, as I thought that some glances behind weren't really 'proper' glances. Bizarrely, they liked that game, too.