Daughter's bike. Female Advice Appreciated.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hugh Manatee

Veteran
Hello everyone. My daughter has way outgrown her old mountain bike. It is true she didn't exactly wear it out with use but, next year as a family we are going to ride more.

She is 12 and is already 5' 8" tall and still growing like a weed. I have plenty of experience of bikes but have got out of touch with mountain bikes lately what with all the different wheel sizes cropping up each week!

Also, do I need to get her female specific geometry? Would a shorter stem, (are they still 150mm) a lady saddle and 170mm cranks on a standard frame suffice? 26" wheels or 650?

I'm stuck between wanting to get her something half decent for the weight etc but not wanting it to be too small by this time next year. What's really bad news for my wallet is she is one half of twins but buying for her brother is slightly more straight forward for me.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

lesley_x

Über Member
I can't help with the mountain bike side of things or sizing but I strongly feel that wsd is not always essential. Both my bikes are men's bikes with men's saddles. Don't get too hung up on wsd just get whatever she feels comfortable using and likes.

Panter

Just call me Chris...
Hello everyone. My daughter has way outgrown her old mountain bike. It is true she didn't exactly wear it out with use but, next year as a family we are going to ride more.

She is 12 and is already 5' 8" tall and still growing like a weed. I have plenty of experience of bikes but have got out of touch with mountain bikes lately what with all the different wheel sizes cropping up each week!

Also, do I need to get her female specific geometry? Would a shorter stem, (are they still 150mm) a lady saddle and 170mm cranks on a standard frame suffice? 26" wheels or 650?