Dawes headset

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I've picked up a loose folding Dawes Kingpin frame and forks. It came with a few other bits - crank, mudguards, stem, bars. I'm intending / hoping to rescue it in some manner.

Unfortunately it does have a crack in the head tube but I think its fixable with a stopper hole and suitable reinforcement.

The thing I'm hoping to learn more about here is the design of the headtube and headset. The headtube is flared at the top and the bottom, with the flare being more pronounced at the bottom. The flare in the headtube appears to mirror the curved cross section of the headset bearing cup holders. When I say bearing cup holders, I mean the bearings run in a separate ring that its self sits in the bit that interfaces with the frame. I hope that description, alongside the photos, makes some sense.

I'm no expert, but headsets I've seen before have been squared off and have fitted in to similarly squared off head tubes. When I saw the flaring on my KP frame I initially thought it was whacked out of shape, but it looks too regular to be damage.

So, the question. Is a flared headtube / headset cup holder and separate bearing ring something that may be expected of a mid 1960's to min 1970's shopper type bike please?

Attachments

• witness.JPG
    witness.JPG
    109.1 KB · Views: 128
  • headtube lower.JPG
    headtube lower.JPG
    89.9 KB · Views: 121
  • headbearing.JPG
    headbearing.JPG
    128.7 KB · Views: 123

midlife

Guru
I always thought that they had standard headset which fitted into a standard head tube...

raleighnut

Legendary Member
It almost looks like someone has stuck the headtube/bottom cup in a big press and squeezed them too far together (leading to the crack where the tube has 'flared') could have been a deliberate 'bodge' though.

OP
OP
graham bowers