Dawes Horizon Tour

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RyanOP

Hi everyone,

Recently picked up a Dawes Horizon Tour with a Reynolds 520 frame.

I'm looking to restore/upgrade it as best I can as this is the first road/touring bike I've ever owned.

As of writing this, I've managed to get new tires and tubes, running Schwalbe Land Cruisers on a 700x 38c wheel.

I've also managed to make a list of all the parts I need to get, which is pretty much the full bike minus the tires and frame.

Here's a breakdown
- Shimano Sora Brake Levers + Shifters
- Shimano Sora Front Derailleur
- Shimano Acera Rear Derailleur
- SR Suntour CR310 Crankset
- Tektro Oryx Cantilever Brakes
- I need a new bottom bracket and crankset to replace the SR Suntour but I don't have the tool to get to it and find out what I need so if anyone has any idea what I could need that'd be fab

Any help along this journey would be much appreciated as this is my first time doing such a project but I really want to get this bike to a point where I can take it out for longer rides.

Feel free to ask questions and I'll do my best to answer!

Thanks!

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Hello Ryan and welcome to the forum.

If you could post a pic of the actual bike that would help a lot.
The BB is likely going to be square taper so all you need to do is check the spindle length and replace accordingly. You’ll need a crank extractor to remove the crankset but if it’s shot you can just just drift it off with a hammer and length of wood or metal.. Likewise for the BB. I think these bikes originally came with a Shimano crankset so the Suntour might be a replacement so you could revert to a Shimano.
Im not too familiar with the model but I’d check that 38c tyres will fit inside the frame

Vantage

Carbon fibre... LMAO!!!
Hi everyone,

Recently picked up a Dawes Horizon Tour with a Reynolds 520 frame.