Digital photography

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Speicher

Vice Admiral
Lots of people on here take excellent photos, which is encouraging me to return to photography. I have an Olympus with 3.2 mega pixels. I have begun taking photos, and storing them on a memory card, and then transferring them to my computer.

So I have labelled the memory cards with the contents, ie which holiday etc. Now I would like to store them and alter them slightly. Nothing ambitious, correcting the horizon, cutting off stray lamp posts, etc. I did try altering one photo, but forgot to save the original and pixelated it beyond recovery. Fortunately there are similar ones, but not quite as good as the original.

My question is this, can anyone recommend a program that I can use to do a few changes and to put them into some sort of order. For example put the architecture ones together, and the lakes and boats together, I am sure you will know what I mean, I am not good at explaining it.

I have tried Photofiltre and more recently Kodak Easy share software(downloaded free). I have heard Photoshop mentionned but think that may be too advanced for me, and probably too expensive.

However, I struggle with these programs, as it seems I am doing it by trial and error, and when something goes right, I have not written down what to do, and have to think it out all again. Should I carry on trying these programs or is there something easier, better to use. I do not want to do major alterations to photos, I like to retain them looking closely like how they were taken.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. People's photos on here have encouraged me to try this.

Bigtallfatbloke

Hi,
I don't know how good these are but they are all FREE...so try them and see if they help.

http://www.techsupportalert.com/dr/imaging

Odyssey