Do they really understand?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

novetan

Über Member
I often see comments after I changed to X brand wheel, the moment I start to pedal it just propel you forward. Man, this wheel can roll, bal blab bla.

I have ridden low, medium and high profile wheel and I know exactly the feeling. Low profile wheel has a quicker start up than higher profile. No doubt abt it. But isn’t we ought to consider the benefits of riding and counting the speed of any particular wheel over a much longer distance than just making a snap conclusion the moment the wheel began to turn?

Though I only started riding slightly over a year, I believed I understood the basic and its technicalities and conclusion shouldn't be drawn without a more complex evaluation.

Do all this so called aficionado knows the exact science and exactly knows what they are talking about?

Rob3rt

Man or Moose!
Is English your 1st language? I found that post to be rather confusing, but in answer to what I think I have just read.

Most people appear to have no real idea what they are talking about and just repeat stock phrases from magazine reviews. They have bought some better wheels and the bike feels better to ride, they don't really know how to quantify or even describe the feeling so they come out with the same old stuff they think they should be saying.

Quite frankly, I couldn't tell the difference in order to debate the merits between 2 similarly specced wheels in most cases and I race almost weekly so my wheels get used in anger, not just pootling about.

I don't think it matters that much though!

snailracer

Über Member