Does Standover Height Matter At All?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I am 6'2", which puts me in the XL frame size (sometimes large) on all the different manufaturer charts. I picked up a XL GHOST Square Cross 1.8 second hand, without even trying the bike on for size. I haven't ridden a bike in a good 20 years and didn't want to embarrass myself eating pavement or what not in front of the seller.

I'm a noob but based on the .883 rule for saddle height I have to slam my seat all the way down to get the correct height. All else seems comfortable enough, although I have only made it a little less than 4 miles in a little more than 20 minutes due to being out shape.

I've also measured my inseam and got 82.5cm or about 32.5 inches. I plan to measure again just to double check but pretty sure it's correct. Measured with no shoes on.

Anyway, back to the tip tube height. When standing over it, my ummm mid section we will call it, sits right on top of the top tube. Is this a big issue? When I stop, I just lean the bike over a little to put my feet down. I'm not sure if that is how to correctly stop or if I am doing something wrong? I have no issues finding another bike but wondering if I am risking my safety (mid section) or if I should just stop overthinking it and ride what I have?

Attached a few screenshots of me taking off on the bike, the 2nd time I got on it, in case that matters any.

Anyway, let me know if you have any thoughts.

Regards,

Philip

Attachments

• 20240324_160821.jpg
    20240324_160821.jpg
    255.9 KB · Views: 61
  • Screenshot_20240407_183659_Photos.jpg
    Screenshot_20240407_183659_Photos.jpg
    94.4 KB · Views: 57
  • Screenshot_20240407_184005_Photos.jpg
    Screenshot_20240407_184005_Photos.jpg
    92.9 KB · Views: 60
  • Screenshot_20240407_184132_Photos.jpg
    Screenshot_20240407_184132_Photos.jpg
    90.6 KB · Views: 58
Hi Philip,

I'd say that looks about spot on.