Driving advice!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm a cyclist and driver, this question is aimed at others who do both.

I have a particular driving / cycling question that's come up after driving behind a roadie. I hung back while the cyclist sped along at about 18mph round bends and hills on a narrow country road. I struggle to safely overtake for possibly 5 miles without the risk of meeting an oncoming car round a bend or close passing because its a narrow road. I simply sit back a couple of car lengths or more. I even keep the engine low and quiet revving until I can overtake with at least 1 to 1,5m gap.

This isn't the issue. The issue is I'm conscious the cyclist is nervously looking back and ime in such a situation on a bike I too feel conscious I'm holding a driver up, or if not that, I'm conscious it's taking time for us to reach a overtaking opportunity.

Here's the question...

What's best in such situations? Both as a driver and cyclist?

I think I'm doing things right both cycling and driving in such places. I just think we need to know that even when doing things right there's a kind of discomfort there. How to reduce that?

I know the cyclist waving through a driver is wrong. If I can't see a safe way through I won't overtake on someone else's say so, quite rightly too. I also know sitting back a few lengths doesn't quite help putting the cyclist at ease. I also know as a cyclist pulling in and stopping to n let the driver pass by only means you'll be back in that situation with the next car along.

I can only think that the way I drive is right but similarly the cyclist needs to carry on, ignoring their discomfort, and leave it to me to decide when I can safely pass in the car. Not ideal because knowing a car is behind you even safely back isn't great for a nice country lane ride.

Over to you for your views on this.

Electric_Andy

Heavy Metal Fan