ebay down turn

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

e-rider

crappy member
I've been selling stuff on ebay since about 2006 at a rate of about 85 items per year so I'd call myself fairly experienced in the world of ebay selling these days

so over the last few months (dare I say since Brexit) it appears that nothing sells on ebay compared to my experiences of the past 10 years - have people stopped shopping in general, or is it just ebay?

Chris S

Legendary Member
What are you selling? I buy things of ebay that I can't easily get in local shops. In the past few months I've bought a Stirling engine, a Rubik's cube and a kaleidoscope.

I've also bought a thermometer and a circuit tester. Even when I added in the P+P they were still cheaper than my local Wickes.

vickster

Legendary Member
I'd rather use a site where PayPal is not required and I can use a credit card. As above, I use it very occasionally if cheaper or something isn't available elsewhere. Nothing do with the Brexit vote

Reactions: mjr
OP
OP
e-rider

e-rider

crappy member
I used to buy from eBay, but now I find that Amazon is far better value, and returning items is easier. Amazon are much more professional than eBay as well.
yes, I think people consider ebay to be like a regular shop accepting retunrs etc. in reality it's people selling secondhand stuff and a load of delboy types selling dodgy stuff and fakes - perhaps ebay is going out of fashion at last

there was a time when anything would sell on ebay but now I can't shift a thing

vickster

Legendary Member
What are you selling? And how are the prices compared to new? Or used on Amazon?

I expect a significant difference on an eBay price versus say Amazon (min 10-20% less) if I have to use Paypal

screenman

Legendary Member
Maybe money is getting a little tighter, we have for some reason seen some everyday things go up in price and those with a fixed income may not have much left.

Reactions: mjr

slowmotion