Electric Tricycles Steering & Gears

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Aurora

Hi Folks,

So this is my second and I think most important post so thank you in advance for any and all help I can get.

As a complete newbie to all this cycling malarkey I probably have the dumbest questions ever! Lol

So I'm in my mid 40s and last time I was on a bike I was under 10 years old I do remember the last time as I was going down a wee incline and breaked and did a somersault- ouch! I still recall the bike too, it was an orange Raleigh. I do also remember riding a tricycle and preferred that but the parents wouldn't get me one.

I have some health issues as I've said previously which means I'm looking to buy an electric trike. I can't drive a car so it will be amazing to have some freedom! I've never had that before!

I was feeling confident about the whole thing until I came across some google posts about how much trouble people had with steering and having it pull left or right depending on the cambrence of the road etc. I'm now more than a bit concerned as I would not have the strength to 'wrestle' a bike constantly... I guess I assumed I would just hop on and off I would go!

So is the steering thing as big an issue as I've read about? Are there any tricycle brands that are better than others with this issue? I was looking at a powatryke as I definitely need something with the pure power option although I prefer the look of the Jorvik ones.

Also I've never ridden a bike with gears before, how does that work? Yeah I know that's probably the stupidest question anyone has ever asked in these forums before lol!

So yeah Don't laugh too much folks!

TheDoctor

Europe Endless
Hello and :welcome:

There is indeed a knack to steering a trike, and it's this.
You steer a trike by steering, whereas you steer a bike by leaning, with a bit of counter-steering to initiate the lean.