Fat legs!!! Im a newbie!!!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Terramona

Ive recently started cycling everyday for work - Mon-Fri, which is five miles each way, along a canal path, and some road cycling. When I started I was 9 and a half stone. I am now 10 stone!!!

I eat quite healithily, apart from the occasional chocolate bar.

My theory is that as I have quite "chunky" legs anyways (as in the way theyre built) could it be that the muscle is building up, which weighs more than fat anyways, and the fat is yet to burn off??

Ive been cycling 2-3 times a week till this week. I started 5 times a week this week.

Oh, Im new by the way!!! HI!!! B)

walker

I'd Love to be 10 stone.

your gaining muscle yes, if you are noticing more fat on you then your are gaining weight.

Is it a theroy or are they big?

Bigtallfatbloke

I dream of being 10 stone...I lost 4 stone on the bike last year having started the year as a total nob newbie. Initially however I too felt I was gaining weight. Keep going the weight will come off as soon as you start to ride longer distances. ..oh yeah...cut out the chocolate...I now get my sugar rush from honey in tea followed by a 25 mile ride around the block each day.

OP
OP
T

Terramona

Is it a general assumption then that the more i cycle the more weight ill gain? I dont want to end up a fattie!!!

Cathryn

Legendary Member
Hahaha...I'm guessing you're a girl!

My legs, in my own mother's words, are 'sturdy'. I'd say fat but they're not fat, they're just sturdy. I've just got back from a 1200 mile trip round Europe with my best ever legs...not thin, but solid muscle. They're unfortunately going rapidly downhill.

Muscle does weigh more than fat so that might make a difference, but it might worth taking measurements of your waist, hips, thighs etc and checking progress. Could be more encouraging.

OP
OP
T

Terramona

yep, Im a girl :-) my once baggy-ish jeans now fit niceand snuggly!!!