Ferry re-opening

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

annedonnelly

Girl from the North Country
Clearly my succces in getting permission for cycle stands has gone to my head. I've now moved on to ferries...

Text copied from my Facebook post:

"As a Blyth resident I've had a letter from British Volt about their planned battery factory at Cambois and inviting responses about their plans. I have suggested that, if they want to do something for the local community, they could fund the reopening of the ferry from Blyth to North Blyth.
A few years ago there were plans to reopen the ferry as part of the rerouting of the NCN 1 cycle route but the project turned out to be too expensive.
British Volt are planning 3000 new jobs for local people. Imagine if those local workers from Blyth could simply get the ferry across the river instead of clogging up the Spine Road travelling to work. And easy access to Blyth town centre for people in Cambois & North Blyth.
If anyone agrees with me they could e-mail British Volt too on planningapplication@britishvolt.com"

For those who don't know the reopening of the Blyth-North Blyth passenger/cycle ferry would cut a big chunk off the NCN1 route. And provide a sustainable travel route between two places currently only really accessible by car (there's a limited bus service).

If any locals (@Archie_tect ?) would like to support my idea the e-mail address is above. Probably a waste of time, but it's not even going to cost you the price of a stamp...

IaninSheffield

Veteran
And what an advert for their technology if that ferry was battery powered?

Oldhippy

Cynical idealist
You are on a roll! I strongly believe that if collections of like minded individuals do things like you are doing cohesively without jumping up and down or screaming in people's faces gets much better results in the long term.

And what an advert for their technology if that ferry was battery powered?