Fitting out a drying room

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Baggy

Cake connoisseur
I've been asked to compile a list of things needed to fit out a drying room at work - does anyone have any idea what kind of heaters etc would be suitable?

So far my list is:
Electric timer
Tubular airing cupboard/greenhouse heater (no idea what size)
Safety mesh for heater
Racks
Door lock

We'll also need to have a false ceiling installed but hopefully someone else will get the quote for that...

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
I've no experience of this but would a dehumidifier be good depending on how damp it got?

OP
OP
Baggy

Baggy

Cake connoisseur
Will look into the dehumidifier - after the recent downpours it could get quite damp if all 20 regular commuters are trying to dry kit...
Hooks now on the list!

Shaun

Founder
What about mats to absorb drips from bikes/riders? (dark ones!!)

Towels - for a head/general body drying on arrival? (will it be a changing room too?)

Sink? (to "freshen up" the face and get rid of general road spray/muck)

Bin?

fimm

Veteran
Going on experience of drying rooms in huts/bunkhouses used for drying hillwalking kit, a dehumidifyer in addition to the heaters is mush better than just the heaters.

Amanda P

Legendary Member
I'll second (or are we on to third by now?) the dehumidifier. I've stayed at far too many hostels where the clothes get lovely and warm, but are still wet because it's 100% humid in the drying room. Either there needs to be lots of air movement, or loads of dehumidifier capacity.

You should consider the floor, and what it'll be like if it gets wet. Bravo to your employer for considering this; it'd be a shame if it was promptly closed again due to someone slipping on a wet, shiny floor and getting hurt (it happens a lot, but still they wax the floors....).

OP
OP
Baggy

Baggy

Cake connoisseur
Thanks for all the suggestions! Have added a shoe rack to the list...