Forest of Bowland

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

gbs

Guru
As a former Yorkshire resident I have heard, with scepticism, good comment about the Forest of Bowland. Once lockdown is sufficiently eased I want to go for 3 possibly 4 days. I am not a camper and for a short holiday I don't mind paying a premium for places other than the budget hotels and McDs. OSM Outdoors suggest some routes but other than that I don't have a clue re good cycling destinations. Currently I am thinking
  1. AM leave London by rail as soon as the senior railcard is valid for Preston and travel on by taxi, to a hotel base somewhere with easy access to the area, possibly Clitheroe.
  2. ride Nly loop to Clapham, Settle, about 75k
  3. ride NWly loop to Dunsop Br, Oakenclough, about 90k
  4. tbd
  5. travel home
All comments and suggestions on my plan above are welcome; literally anything - routes , cafes, hotels, museums etc etc

Last edited:

geocycle

Legendary Member
Great choice of area. I think your two routes take in the classic climb from Slaidburn up the Hodder valley and then the descent to Clapham. The other must would be the Trough of Bowland. A third day might get you to Malham? Clitheroe is a good choice, lots of cafes an pubs, I’ve stayed at the brewery in an old mill which has been converted to a nice hotel. Another option might be Whaley or slaidburn. the latter would be an expensive taxi. You could even base in Lancaster to keep train logistics simpler. Good cafes in Dunsop Bridge, Chipping, Wray, Laidburn, Clapham, Settle...

I declare bias as I live on the edge of the Forest of Bowland, near Clapham, at the bottom of the road up Bowland Knotts, meaning that all the Bowland roads are within a couple of hours. It is most certainly excellent cycling country.

I assume those loops are: