Front derailleur not staying on big ring

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

areyouactuallymoving

I've picked up a second hand bike and I'm trying to sort out the gearing (I'm not experienced in this kind of thing and am sure I'm not using the right terminology). With the front derailleur, the chain will go fully over to the big ring, but as soon as I let go of the shifter, it goes back to the small ring.

Any deas of how to fix this?

iluvmybike

Über Member
You need to adjust the cable to be tighter

OP
OP
A

areyouactuallymoving

The cable is as tight as it can go. The chain moves across fine and as long as I hold the shifter over it stays there. It seems to be more that it's not holding in place rather than the cable nor being tight enough (I think).

iluvmybike

Über Member
Have you checked that the cable is sliding freely through the outer? If that is ok then sorry but it can only really be be it is cable tension - if you have no adjustment left at the barrel or inline adjuster as it is then select the little ring then undo the cable at the mech, screw barrel adjuster right back in then pull cable tight at mech and then use barrel adjuster to tension further.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
As above, if you're using downtube shifters it sounds like the shifter is not holding the derailleur in place. So check that first.
Once that's sorted might be as well to release the cable and start from scratch. Plenty of videos on YouTube.
Please post a pic of the set up.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!