Front rings on mtbs???

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Lovacott

Über Member
You actually end up with pretty much the same amount of "usable" gears and no chain-crossing:okay:
Pros:-
No front mech or left hand shifter so less to keep on top of.In theory chain should last longer and no chain dropping if you use a narrow/wide(NW) front ring.
Cons:-
Costs more.In some cases a lot more!NW front ring can wear quickly.Ratios are arguably wider but IME you don't notice(or you get used to it).

I'm a newbie to multiple chainrings on the front, but the more I use them, the more I like them.

I do some pretty long climbs and I've learned where to be on the front chainrings before I attack a hill.

If I am hill climbing, I will go small on the front and small on the back just before I start the climb. I then have 6 easier selections on the back which I can make as the climb progresses and I can forget about the front.

When I first started commuting over the hills (shortcut to work), I was losing my chain on the front at least two or three times per commute.

But as I have learned, you should never try to change the front gears down when they are under load when climbing a hill (load tension on the chain causes the chain to snap left when it is forced off the chainring by the derailleur and it will overshoot the lower chainring).

I've been making a mental note of where and when I use each gear and I have to say, that I'm not sure that I could manage with less than the 21 speeds I have got.

There are a couple of hills I do which I couldn't do unless I had the granny gear on the front.

ChrisEyles

Guru
Choice can't be a bad thing - only real way to know for sure which you'll like best is to give them all a go and see!

SkipdiverJohn

Deplorable Brexiteer
I do some pretty long climbs and I've learned where to be on the front chainrings before I attack a hill.