Garmin edge and mapping

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hello
I'm relatively new to cycling (pleasure/fitness) and looking to purchase a Garmin computer/GPS. I'm looking at the edge 810or 820 but getting awfully confused about mapping. To save me wasting another night viewing YouTube reviews, could someone please explain what they come with ?base maps and if they both do, why then some talk about adding additional maps via a micro s card? I'm just wanting some basic ride data with navigation so I can do a few 20or 30mile rides without getting lost!! All advice greatly received. #confused

20 or 30mile rides
For that distance, just use your phone.

Strava to record ride data, and built in maps to help if you get lost.

If you are on Android, osmand is excellent for following pre planned routes.

Last edited:

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
I love my Garmin Edge 1000, it shows you all the necessary ride data and also has 'round trip routing' so you can choose how many miles you want to ride and it will give you a choice of 3 round trip routes, pick one and off you go.
It was Great for me when riding in The Dordogne last year where I was completely unfamiliar with the area.
The Edge 1000 is quite expensive but the Touring model also has the 'round trip routing' all the data and is much cheaper.

You add Openstreetmaps, which are downloadable free from several sites (links below) and they work extremely well. Your other option, as mentioned, is to use your phone. Personally I've never been tempted by that option but for others it suffices. The unit comes only with very basic maps which is why you need a better map.

https://talkytoaster.co.uk/
http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl/ (use generic routable, new style)