Gas canisters

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

robing

Über Member
I'm a bit of a newbie to cooking on the go. How easy are gas canisters to come by in Spain and France? And am I right in thinking that France uses Camping Gaz? I've got the screw top one to go with my Pocket Rocket stove which is great.

Dead easy in France - Camping Gaz easier - Spain Ive not found to be a problem - Camping Gas is again more readily available

Get an adaptor for Camping Gas to threaded before you go - made by Vaude?

doog

I'm a bit of a newbie to cooking on the go. How easy are gas canisters to come by in Spain and France? And am I right in thinking that France uses Camping Gaz? I've got the screw top one to go with my Pocket Rocket stove which is great.

You might struggle then...couldnt find anything to fit my Coleman F1 Lite (same fitting as your pocket rocket) but took a camping gaz Bleuet stove as reserve . Similar screw type fitting for repeated use, however they use CV470 or CV300 plus which are sold everywhere....perhaps buy the stove over there ? ...about £15

Damn, too late. I'm en route now! BTw what are the screw top ones called?

No idea I usually just walk into a shop and pick one up - common makes MSR, epigas primus - In Spain Ive found decathlon generally have them - and decent outdoor shops (few and far between) also Fishing and gunshops

I had a problem recently source the Gaz canister without the valve, i.e. the non reusable ones. The man in the shop told me those are being phased out and I should buy a new lamp. I eventually found the old ones and bought a few. I hope they never go obsolete.

You mean the puncture ones I assume yellow saddle. I had the impression that they were still relatively easy to find.

And they often seem cheaper.