Geometry comparison help

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Andrew_Culture

Internet Marketing bod
As I whittered on about elsewhere I recently went for a bike fit and it turns out the farmyard gate I've been riding for two years is too large for me. I've spotted a Boardman frame on ebay for £100 that I really like on Ebay but to my eyes the geometry is quite far off what I need. Am I reading this situation right?

The Boardman frame is size LG and here's the geometry:
Screen Shot 2014-02-25 at 10.02.12.png

This is the geometry the bike fit folk said I should keep and eye out for:
photo.jpg

4F

Active member of Helmets Are Sh*t Lobby
Going by that spec I would have said the medium was the closest fit

Mike!

Guru
I'm far from an expert but isn't that fit chart showing a short Seat Tube for the length of Top Tube (517/557) ? My two medium frame roadies are both 54cm Seat Tubes? Medium Frame Boardman is fine for me and I'm 2" shorter than you? My guess is large would be ok but it certainly doesn't match your fit chart :huh:

Pottsy

Yes but the 517 seat tube on the fit chart is CTC for a sloping top tube design, so it's probably an actual of a cm or two more to the centre of a theoretical horizontal top tube.

I agree that MD frame looks closer to fitting requirement but I wouldn't do anything without sitting on both first. Who says your fitting recommendation is what you'll actually feel comfortable on too.

mattobrien

Guru
For £100 I reckon you could buy it and then make the differences match with stem length and seat post height. All depends whether it will be a temporary or long term solution.

You could also get the head tube height with spacers on the steerer post, possibly.

If it is going to be for the long term then it might be worth getting it more accurate, but on stem lengthy, you are only looking at losing c. 13mm to get it right. Was there a recommended stem length with the fit?