Getting into touring..

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ivanmathew

Hi, I'm just getting into touring and have been reading the top touring tips. Does anyone have any reccomendations on what type of bicycle they like to use? Is a standard road bicycle just fine? Or should I invest in a touring bicycle?

I'm about to go on a 300km trek through the mountains here in British Columbia, Canada and am just looking for any advice you guys might have!

andym

Über Member
ivanmathew said:
Does anyone have any reccomendations on what type of bicycle they like to use? Is a standard road bicycle just fine? Or should I invest in a touring bicycle?

It depends quite a lot on what sort of bike you have and what sort of touring you want to do. You definitely don't have to rush out and buy a touring bike to go touring. On the other hand if you had a very race-oriented road bike and you wanted to go touring on dirt roads in the Himalayas then you'd want to consider getting something better adapted to the job.

If you're comfortable riding the bike you have, and it will carry the stuff you need, then I'd stick with it - at least until you have a better idea of what you want from a bike. Besides, if you decide to go in for camping then you'll find there are plenty of other calls on your money.

On the other hand if this is really a 'give me an excuse to buy a new bike' thread then you might want to check out the Surly Long Haul Trucker which seems to have a cult status among US touring cyclists.

Cathryn

Legendary Member
Totally agree with Andy - any bike can be a tourer if you tour on it. For mountains, you might want to fit or get a bike with a triple chainset because any extra gears are pretty welcome. Your trip sounds fab!!

RedBike

There's no specific need to have a touring bike. However, you're often rather limited as to how much stuff you can carry on a standard road bike.

samid

Guru