going over bumps

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
A silly rant of mine...

How do you guys ride over bumps? Do you have a dominant leg on which you shift your body weight, or do you put your legs level?

I usually use my right leg, and Maltese roads being what they are (i.e. bumpy being an understatement) made my right thigh slightly bigger than the left one lol.. might start using my left leg more for compensation.

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
Bizarre! To answer your question - no. I rise out of the saddle slightly, but as to which is the 'dominant' leg, it's 50/50 - just depends where my legs happen to be at the time. You remind me, tho', of when I studied history at school - Factory Acts from the Victorian era - and how in certain towns, the nature of the machinery of the town industry - textiles, typically - meant that almost everyone in town had a left shoulder 4" lower than their right, or whatever. 'The machine of flesh chained to the machine of iron'. Karl Marx said that. (He used to be big in the early 20th Century, for younger readers.)

Maz

Guru
[quote name='swee'pea99']Karl Marx said that. (He used to be big in the early 20th Century, for younger readers.)[/QUOTE]
Which one is he in this pic?
marx_thinker.jpg

Night Train

Maker of Things
I have my legs at the 3 and 9o'clock positions and rise out of the saddle a bit for a small bump and almost stand upright for big bumps. It evens out the shock loading on my legs. If I had a dominant leg to stand on then it would take the brunt of the shock each and every time.

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
And I bleeden hate road bumps, or sleeping policemen or whatever they are called... cursed things, no good for man or beast or machine or cyclist.

Night Train

Maker of Things
There are a lot of pot holes and bumps here so I am out of the saddle a lot. The uneven cobbles on my road are hard work, fortunately the road is short.